Organize like you’re moving

Honestly? This whole journey is overwhelming and I’m just at the beginning. Other than the basement (a space that will have its own dedicated post in the future) the area of my home that makes me the most uncomfortable is my master bedroom. My bedroom is the first true master bedroom I have ever had. It’s a good-sized, but not too large space that gets beautiful afternoon light and has a full bathroom and roomy closet. It fits my king-sized bed, a dresser, and a chest of drawers comfortably. It is also constantly cluttered and messy, creating anxiety for me when it should be creating comfortable retreat.

A portion of the chaos that is my bedroom is that it’s shared space and my fiance, love him as I do, has a different idea of tidy than I do. The majority of the issue, though, is the mass quantity of clothing that I have. Right now the left-hand side of the closet designated as mine is packed solid and even overflows into the not-mine side. The chest of drawers is full to the point closing drawers is complicated. A third of the dresser is crammed with my things and I even filled a plastic storage cart with clothes only to still have too many.

I could probably go an entire year without wearing the same outfit twice. This has to stop.

My anxiety about the space is something that’s lead me to tackle organization strategies in the past. I’ve tried the “if you haven’t worn it in a season get rid of it” method where I tied ribbons on a hanger and removed the ribbon if I wore the item. Whatever hangers had ribbons left at the end of a prescribed time frame got donated. I’ve tried the “swap with your friends closet yard sale” approach where I have a miniature swap meet in my home so we could all get rid of things. I even KonMari’d the hell out of my room. None of the methods really worked. KonMari lasted all of two weeks before my cat peed in the place I designated for my purse. So much for that.

There is one thing that has always worked for me, though. Every time I’ve moved I’ve successfully been able to get rid of things. Usually Catholic Charities gets bags upon bags of things from me when I move, but I’ve also had some lucrative yard sales associated with moves. So if something’s not broke, why fix it? The plan I’m going to implement for this first purging and organizing, this simplification of my space is the “Organize Like You’re Moving” plan.

Here is how it’s going to work.
-I’m sticking with one room at a time and one room only. In this case, it’s the master bedroom and I’m narrowing things down further to a category of things, clothing.
-I’m setting myself a “get rid of” goal. Right now that goal is that I want to reduce my clothing amount by 75%. It may change.
-I have predetermined purge catergories: Donate, Sell, Upcycle, and Capsule. Items I think other people could get good use from (such as many of my larger-sized shoes) will get donated to the domestic violence shelter where I work. Items that I think have some value to them will be sold to thredUP, a local resale shop, or at a planned yard sale. I like the idea of the things I put on my credit card contributing to paying it off. Items that I can’t donate or sell go to my upcycle pile to become fabric and tools for my side sewing business. And finally, I’m working towards a capsule wardrobe for everything else.
-I’m giving myself two weeks to get through these things. I’d like to enter March with an orderly closet space.

I’m excited to try this, though I’m not certain how it’s going to play out. I’m working on trying to decide how many pieces to have in my capsule wardrobe, but I keep running into the roadblock of my LuLaRoe pieces. I have a lot of leggings, friends. A lot of them and they all serve a purpose. But, let’s be real here, do I really need four pair of patriotic leggings? Maybe?

Leave a Reply

